jump to navigation

Climate change is here.. November 5, 2006

Posted by InvisibleInk in Climate Change / Global Warming.
trackback

I only wrote about MBA and INSEAD here up to now. It’s time to change this. Today I woke up to these views:

Snow
snow1.jpg

Eventhough such pictures so early on in the year might give the impression that I am in a Nordic country, it’s not the case. In fact, it’s completely the opposite. I am in a warm country, famous for its beaches, and gets millions of tourists every year. In fact, I remember swimming this time two years ago (though considered very unusual by the locals, tourists do it all the time), today I am staring at a city covered in snow. Looks like it ought to be Christmas. This is the first time in my lifetime and also in my parents lifetime that we see snow in the beginning of November.

Unfortunately, I don’t believe this is one-off surprise. The first week I arrived here, it was 30C. Following week, temperature dropped to 16C. Then it went down to 9C. Then it became summer again at mid 20Cs. Last night it dropped from 13C to 0C. Apparently, there is more snow for at least another 3 days. I just can’t believe how messed up the weather has become. It has a mind of its own. Seasons seem to come and go week by week.

So, let’s hope that there will be positive developments at the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change at Nairobi this month. It is already very late and many politicians are taking this issue too lightly. Maybe some day soon the map below will be 100% green. But let’s hope that it won’t be too late then.

Kyoto Protocol Participation Map 2005

Comments»

1. Greg - November 6, 2006

Very well said InvisibleInk. I happen to live in that big block of red called the United States and would very much like to see it be green.

I also don’t think that this is off-topic in terms of writing about your future MBA experience – you will hopefully find many opportunities to get involved in issues of social responsibility, environmental sustainability, etc. I’m a first year student at Wharton and just returned from the Net Impact (www.netimpact.org) conference in Chicago – its a great group and I’m almost certain there is an INSEAD chapter.

On the topic of climate change, I think you might enjoy an old post that I dug up from my blog:
http://perpetualmotion.wordpress.com/2006/08/01/mercury-rising/

Keep up the great writing.

Greg

2. InvisibleInk - November 6, 2006

Hi Greg,

Thank you for your comment and your support. I had a look at the Net Impact site. Looks very interesting indeed. You were right, there is an INSEAD chapter. I will get in touch with the relevant people.

I read your post. Nice picture by the way! It’s good to know that the state of California is taking steps forward rather than wait for the Government to come to terms with its shortfall in environmental policies. I hope they set a trend for the other states to follow.

InvisibleInk

3. Dmitri - November 9, 2006

Greg and InvisibleInk,
If you are interested in social responsibility and environmental sustainability, you might want to check out Wharton Alumni Forum in Costa in June 2007 (InvisibleInk – It is open to INSEAD students/alums as well). More information is available at http://www.whartoncostarica07.com/

4. InvisibleInk - November 10, 2006

Hi Dmitri,

Thank you for the link and the info. I appreciate your help in opening up new avenues to explore these topics. Once I get to INSEAD, I should have some information on my class and exam schedule for early June. It would be great to attend the event if there are no clashes.


Leave a Reply

